My writing it is tough being a thinking, compassionate Catholic, housing in Ireland.

Christianity and social democracy and other projects. Copies of my book are selling well. There are still copies of my book for sale in O Mahoneys Limerick, Dicks Supervalu Charleville and Foleys Ballydaheen Mallow. You can buy my book online through Thebookshop.ie. I am actually writing 2 new books, a book on the creed, and a science fiction book called Journey to Utopia. I decided to write a book on the creed because I think that a basic knowledge of the Christian faith is lacking. My first book sums up years of reflection on my political theology. This new book will be a part 2 of my first book. I want to focus on storytelling in the area of science fiction. It is an area of storytelling that I love, but I find some stories to be depressing.  I want my stories to give hope to people. Yes, we do need hope at this time of bad news.

In general, living my faith with love can be a challenge.  We should remember that no one has all the answers to the questions of life. We should be open to having our views challenged all the time. Church history is instructive where the church had to revise its views on issues. We have the revelation from God in the Church, but our knowledge of the natural world has to be worked out using our human reason alone. As an example, our knowledge of biology has changed because we have new knowledge that has been discovered by scientists. The Galileo case should make us pause as a church when we try to understand certain aspects of our faith in the light of the natural science. This is a plea for humility in the Church today. We do need to realise that we don’t have all the answers and we need to approach our situation in life with love.

Local and EU election campaigns are underway.  We will have a general election sometime in the future.  A major issue in Irish politics is the housing crisis.  To resolve this crisis, we need to understand the economy today in Ireland. Housing is too dear for many people, and money that could be spent in the local economy is instead spent on rent. There are deep issues involved, but as a start, we should learn from the past. The building of local authority housing on public land should be the starting point in tackling our crisis. Allow ordinary working people to be housed. Income limits are too low. In the past, the Dail was recalled in the summer to save a beef company. But our government doesn’t have the same feeling of crisis when it comes to housing. The private market isn’t meant to solve the housing crisis. Money that could be invested in the productive economy is instead tied up in the housing market.  We as a people can do better. 

You can support my writing by buying my book Christianity and social democracy. You can contact me X @irishfabian Facebook John O Brien Irish author and Instagram Johnobrienirishauthor.

Author: irishfabian+

I am a writer. My first book Christianity and social democracy is out now Twitter @irishfabian

Leave a comment