Writing in a dictatorship

As  I write this blog I am aware that I live in a democracy. I think of those people who seek to write in countries where a wrong idea could get you killed or put into prison. Writing can be dangerous especially if  you upset powerful people. Our common humanity demands that we think of people who suffer due  to their calling. If the worst problem I face is a publisher rejecting a book  I send I am lucky. Others face worse problems. New and unpopular ideas force us to think. They help us to see reality in a new light.They help in the progress of humanity.

No person has all the answers.  The battle of ideas is an important aspect in our education. To all those brave women and men who write under the terror of dictatorship we owe a debt of thanksgiving. They fight for freedom with the weapon of the pen.

John O Brien.

Author: irishfabian

I am a member of the Irish Labour Party in Cork East.

Leave a Reply

